Kerala Blasters FC | ISL 2017

Kerala Blasters FC is an Indian professional football club based in Kochi, Kerala. The Blasters compete in the Indian Super League, one of the top leagues of Indian football. The club was established on 24 May 2014 and began their first professional season a few months later in October 2014. The team name comes from one of their owners, former Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, who was known as the “Master Blaster” during his playing days.

The club’s current majority stake holder is Sachin Tendulkar.[2] Minority owners of the club include film stars Chiranjeevi and Akkineni Nagarjuna, as well as film producer Allu Aravind and industrialist Nimmagadda Prasad.[2] The Blasters play their matches at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. The team has lead the league in attendance every season, regularly averaging over 55,000 fans a game.[3]

The Blasters played their inaugural match on 13 October 2014, losing 1–0 to NorthEast United. The club made it to the final of the Indian Super League in 2014. A last minute winner from Mohammed Rafique saw Kerala Blasters FC be defeated 1–0 by Atlético de Kolkata. Despite not qualifying for the finals the next season, the Blasters managed to make it to the final again in 2016. The team was once again defeated by Atlético de Kolkata, this time through penalties 4–3.

First-team squad Kerala Blasters FC :

IndiaGKSubhasish Roy Chowdhury
IndiaDFPritam Kumar Singh
IndiaDFRino Anto
IndiaDFSamuel Shadap
IndiaDFSandesh Jhingan
IndiaMFAjith Sivan
IndiaMFArata Izumi
IndiaMFC.K. Vineeth
IndiaMFJackichand Singh
IndiaMFLoken Meitei
IndiaMFMilan Singh
IndiaMFSiam Hanghal
CanadaFWIain Hume
IndiaFWKaran Sawhney
IndiaFWPrasanth Karuthadathkuni

Read also : Jamshedpur FC | ISL 2017


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *