FC Goa | ISL 2017

FC Goa (also known as The Gaurs) is an Indian professional football franchise based in Goa that competes in the Indian Super League. The FC Goa was launched on 26 August 2014. The team is owned by Goan Football Club Pvt. Ltd. which consists of Jaydev Mody, Venugopal Dhoot and Virat Kohli. It represents Goa, the only state or union territory to declare football as its official sport. The logo represents Goa’s state animal the Gaur while the colours blue and orange symbolizes the Goan coastline and sunrise.

The FC Goa play their home matches at the Fatorda Stadium in Margao. Brazilian footballer Zico has been the club’s Manager (Head Coach) since its inception. Its marquee players for its first two seasons have been French winger Robert Pirès and Brazilian defender Lúcio respectively. The team finished the league stage in second position in their first season. In the end-of-season play-offs, they lost via a penalty shootout against Atlético de Kolkata in the semi-finals after a goalless draw. The next year, the team came first in the league stage, then lost the final 3–2 to Chennaiyin FC at home.

Current squad FC Goa:

IndiaGKLaxmikant Kattimani
IndiaGKNaveen Kumar
IndiaGKBruno Colaco
PortugalDFBruno Pinheiro
IndiaDFNarayan Das
IndiaDFChinglensana Singh
IndiaDFMohamed Ali
IndiaDFAmey Ranawade
IndiaMFPronay Halder
IndiaMFBrandon Fernandes
IndiaMFSeriton Fernandes
IndiaMFPratesh Shirodkar
IndiaMFJovel Martins
IndiaMFMohammed Yasir
IndiaMFAnthony D’Souza
SpainMFManuel Arana
IndiaMFMandar Rao Desai
SpainFWFerran Corominas
IndiaFWManvir Singh

Read also : Delhi Dynamos FC | ISL 2017


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *