Atletico de Kolkata | ISL 2017

ATK (officially as Atletico de Kolkata) is an Indian Super League football franchise based in Kolkata, West Bengal. It was established on 7 May 2014 as the first team in the league. The team is owned by Kolkata Games and Sports Pvt. Ltd. which consists of former Indian cricket captain Sourav Ganguly, alongside businessmen Harshavardhan Neotia, Sanjiv Goenka and Utsav Parekh. Initially for first three seasons Spanish La Liga club Atlético Madrid were also a co-owner, later Goenka bought the shares owned by Atlético Madrid. After the end of their partnership with Spanish giant, Atletico de Kolkata has been rechristened to ATK, expanding to Amar Tomar Kolkata[2]. The team’s name and colours are derived from their Spanish partner.

Under coach Antonio López Habas, Atlético were the hosts and winners of the first match of the Indian Super League. They won the inaugural season, defeating Kerala Blasters 1–0 in the final, and the 2016 edition on penalties against the same opponent in the final.

Foundation :

In March 2014, it was announced that the All India Football Federation, the national federation for football in India, and IMG-Reliance would be accepting bids for ownership of eight of nine selected cities for the upcoming Indian Super League, an eight-team franchise league modeled along the lines of the Indian Premier League cricket tournament. On 13 April 2014, it was announced that Sourav Ganguly, Harshavardhan Neotia, Sanjiv Goenka, Utsav Parekh, and Spanish La Liga side Atletico Madrid had won the bid for the Kolkata franchise. It turned out to be the most expensive franchise, being purchased for 18 crore (around US$3 million). On 7 May 2014, the team was officially launched as Atlético de Kolkata.

On 7 July, the team’s jersey and logo were unveiled by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee at the Nabanna building, temporary headquarters of the state’s secretariat. The logo features a hybrid Bengal tiger–phoenix, with the latter element being symbolic of perpetuity, due to the footballing heritage in Kolkata. Five stars above the crest symbolise the five owners of the club. The shield is striped with tigers’ stripes.

2017 Season :

Atletico De Kolkata has retained the service of Prabir Das and Debjit Majumder.On July 14 ATK appointed Teddy Sheringham as their head coach for the upcoming season of Indian Super League.

Current squad :

IndiaGKDebjit Majumder
IndiaGKKunzang Bhutia
IndiaDFPrabir Das
IndiaDFAnwar Ali
IndiaDFKeegan Pereira
IndiaDFAshutosh Mehta
IndiaDFAugustin Fernandes
IndiaMFRupert Nongrum
IndiaMFShankar Sampingiraj
IndiaMFEugeneson Lyngdoh
IndiaMFHitesh Sharma
IndiaFWRonald Singh
IndiaFWBipin Singh
IndiaFWJayesh Rane
IndiaFWRobin Singh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *